Rennet types – know them all today
Hi, Milk Fans
The different rennet types or milk coagulation enzymes are:
- Rennet from animal origin
- Rennet from GMO micro-organisms
- Curdling enzymes from plants
- Curdling enzymes from Non-GMO micro-organisms
Rennet from animal origin is the “mother” of rennets giving the highest yield and best taste.
Microbial rennet types from GMO micro-organisms has the same chemical composition as animal rennet, with some side reactions, but very close. The comparison is basically like artificial vitamin C and natural vitamin C.
The curdling enzyme rennet types from plants like, figs, papaya, etc. are suitable for lacto-vegetarians.
Curdling enzymes from Non-GMO organisms are generally, Kosher, Halaal, vegetarian.